First time out....

Reaction score
Went for my first outing on the river today. No luck. Not a sausage...... clearly I'm a total novice at this.

I fished the Wreake. It's a slow flowing river with a good looking stretch that has a fair few features. My tackle is basic, and I used rubber lures from a guy called FFSLures, with size 6 jig heads. I also have some spinners which I also had a go with.

I fished the bridges. No luck. I fished near and under over hanging trees. No luck. I fished the edge of the reeds. No luck!. I roamed the banks, flicking 6 to 10 casts on slow retrieves, fast retrieves, I jigged.... anywhere that I thought looked fishy got a go.

I walked to a shallow section which has lots of twists and turns. The water was clear as gin. I got to a section that was made ankle deep with lots of overhanging trees. When I crept up to the edge of the bank, I spied a fish!! Whoop whoop!. It was floating in the current on a shallow stretch, head upstream, close to the near side bank. I cast a 2 in lure up stream and jigged down on the current. No further sign of the fish. I cast and cast and cast. Gosh I'm rubbish...

I walked further down to a shaded deep pool on a bend. I fished this with the same lure and tried a small spinner after a while. Nothing.

I lost some tackle due to some terribly bad casts, got stung to buggery by the nettles. Sweated and tangled my line in the reel. I must of looked like a right comedy act!

I tramped home. Oh well.... better luck next time eh???

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

mikench

Reaction score
Don't worry it's all part of the fishing, not catching, experience. I still fail miserably and reproach myself. If it was easy it would become boring.

Another Dave

Reaction score