Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  1
    Blog Entries

Default Whip fishing advice please.

I bought myself a cheap 3m whip for grabbing a quick hours fishing with the kids. I've never used one before but enjoyed a couple of hours on a small pond yesterday.

1. I want to make up my own rigs, could any of you guys more experienced than me recommend a suitable line strength/diameter for main line and hook length? It's a 3m fibreglass whip. Not got any test curve or weight rating.

2. One of the reasons I have been reluctant to use a whip is the risk of hooking larger fish and snapping off. This happened to my son yesterday. Does anyone have any advice on maximizing the chances of landing the odd rogue fish?

Blog Entries

Default Re: Whip fishing advice please.

To facilitate being able to play and land the very occasional unexpected rogue Carp or other large fish on a light un-elasticated telescopic whip using finer lines I use a 5 to 7mtr flexible tipped whip that comes with one or two push in base sections, which I can use at 3 to 5 metres and then add the push in base sections if and when they’re required.

Being able to add extra length to the whip allows me to play the fish a lot easier and will also facilitate me being able to land a rogue fish using a landing net.

Keith
    Last edited by Keith M; 21-10-2019 at 16:39.
    Happiness is fish shaped (It used to be woman shaped but the wife is getting on a bit now)