Learning some video skills; roach fishing on the Stour

Mark Wintle

Reaction score
I've been attempting to put together some videos on Youtube with varying success. I should have a cameraman soon and my editing skills are coming on. Here's a recent session:

YouTube

Reaction score
Lovely video Mark,im surprised you dont have a bad back the amount of bending you do rebaiting,lol...

Mark Wintle

Reaction score
Lovely video Mark,im surprised you dont have a bad back the amount of bending you do rebaiting,lol...

I get far less backache standing up trotting than I ever do sat on a box, lovely active fishing. Yesterday's rain put the river on the rise again so some sitting down later on a stillwater.

rich66

Reaction score
I enjoyed the video, I’ve limited experience on rivers so it was really interesting and surprising the weight of the float 10BB? is that because of the depth ? Most of the rivers I’ve fished are 5 -8 feet deep.

Mark Wintle

Reaction score
I enjoyed the video, I’ve limited experience on rivers so it was really interesting and surprising the weight of the float 10BB? is that because of the depth ? Most of the rivers I’ve fished are 5 -8 feet deep.

For the flow and presentation I want that size of float is just about right. It's over 10ft deep there, deeper still out in the middle. I want to float to go down in a straight line. A mate fishing there this week wjhen I returned was using a centre-pin and it was noticeable that his float constanytly came into the bank, albeit slowly, one of the reasons the two great Stour anglers, Owen wentworth and Terry Lampard, both opted for fisxed spool reels for their roach fishing.

Mark Wintle

Reaction score
Great video Mark , could I ask why you don't use a longer rod?