Thanks Thanks:  25
Likes Likes:  22
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Question Line for trotting

My question is what line to use with a centre pin reel for trotting its a mix of roach, dace and chub in the river I am going to try I have looked at Drennan supplex are there any others I could investigate?.

Default Re: Line for trotting

Im happy with Bayer Perlon
    Trust me I’m an Engineer

I think your gonn'a get a few varying opinions on this.
    No use me saying my favourite line as it only lays on the surface so is a sinking line, apparently it's wirey and has memory, it's thick in diameter and stretchy.....so really no use for trotting at all. Funny thing is it works for me and I catch fish with it .

My second favourite is as posted above by chrissh...bayer perlon.

Funnily enough, I tried Supplex and got to like it. I first tried it on a fs for light waggler, but I found it hard to sink if you have much line out, so I tried it in 3lb on a fs for stick float, where it proved very good once I realised that you have to be a bit careful moving shot etc. I then tried it in 4lb and 5lb on a pin for tench and crucians, where I've happily used it for several years.

Line choices largely come down to a combination of user preference, cost and availability. If I had to buy some line for trotting asap, it would probably be Dave Harrell Pro-Float. The significant factor there is that I know it's available in my local tackle shop. However, I'd happily settle for Bayer Perlon, Silstar Match Team, or Drennan Float Fish, if they had any of them in stock. There aren't many monos that are genuinely buoyant, but I try to avoid those that are much denser than water (i.e. sink fastest). I'm not remotely interested in any line that necessitates the use of some form of treatment.

Blog Entries

I've used Drennan Float fish for many years and never had any real problems with it when trotting . . . . it is inexpensive, available all over and has stood the test of time.