Reels for flyfishing

Graham Whatmore

Reaction score
I've just bought a Bruce & Walker 9ft 3in 6/7 fly rod and I need a reel to go with it, so, what do you recommend? Does cost reflect quality as in most things and what sort of price should I pay.

Having had a quick glance on Ebay they vary from ?20 for a Shakespeare Graflite with three spools to ?450, which is presumably made of gold. Seriously though, I'm a novice in flyfishing and could do with a bit of guidance please.

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay

For my money a Greys GRX Large Arbour for about ?45.00 with several spare spools.

Have a look at reviews under fly reels.

Alan Tyler

Reaction score
Graflite's fine unless you're after bonefish, or maybe mullet. A fly-reel doesn't actually do much!
Spend some of what you save on a decent line-tray, it will help to keep you sane.

GrahamM

Managing Editor
Reaction score
Scierra IC3, 3 spare cassettes and a nice bag to keep the lot in - about ?45.00. I've got several fly reels that cost from ?15 to ?165.00 but this one's my favourite by far.

S

Shrek

I have 3 Greys GRX reels and am very happy with them.

RRP is ?45 for the #5/6 and ?48 for the #7/8.

They appear regularly on eBay but often go crazy.

Probably be worth seeing what your local tackle shop can do for you.

M

matthew nightingale

I've got a Greys Platinum reel and am very happy with it for river fishing with a 5/6 line.

S

Shrek

It does help with balancing the rod out.

You can get away with a 7# line on a #5/6 reel, but more than that and you're pushing it.

It can also depend on the amount of backing you want to add to the line, nomally 50 to 75yards is more than enough. Also, with the larger arbour on the higher rated reels i.e. #7/8, you should get less memory in the line too.

R

Ron 'The Hat' Clay

The lighter the reel the better it will "balance" the rod.

The truth is that a fly rod casts better without a reel attached.

S

Shrek