Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Like most fishing tackle there are so much commodities & possibly lots of propaganda and its worse for the likes of me as I’m a complete novice. Even flies are overwhelming where to start. There is Airflo Forty Plus, Ridge Line, Sixth Sense, Freshwater Delta, Tru–Cast, Cortland’s 444, Rio Accelerator, Midge Tip, Midspey Sink Tip, Windcutter, Scientific Anglers Supreme 2, Ultra 4 Floating & Wet Cell. Which WF 8 fly line and which taper, leader or fluorocarbon line works most excellent on Stillwater’s for casting but predominantly presentation as that has a large part in catching Trout? Please Help….

Will

Shrek Guest

If it were me, I'd buy a Snowbee Prestige XS fly line.

Leaders would probably be either Rio or Airflo.

Fluorocarbon. Don't know as I don't use it. I use Drennan Double Strength Mono.

COOL thanks; I'll have a gander at the snowbee prestige xs.I personally don't like fluorocarbon but the leader I'm using for now is Ultima Hi-tech Vintage super strong which seems okay.

Will

Ron 'The Hat' Clay (ACA) Guest

The Snowbee Prestige is an excellent line. I have 4 of them in different weights.

As regards leaders, for sinking flies I use fluorocarbon all the time. In in fact I even use a fluorocarbon tippet on a nylon tapered leader when fishing dry flys. The fluorocarbon sinks quickly which is what you want.

It's been many years since I used a full nylon leader.

There is a review of Peter Cockwill's new book - Trout from Small Stillwaters - on the home page of this sight. It's only £16.99 and it will put you right on all the questions you ask.

Peter is a friend of mine and I can assure you this book is top class.

Peter Cockwill is a master fly fisher make no mistake about that.