Help with Fly fishing outfit

P

Paul Coxon

Hi! I'm new to fly fishingbutwant to invest in a fly fishing outfit that I will not outgrow and would be grateful for some advice. I also want my kit to be as general purpose as possible. I intend to fish in a local lake, but wouldlike to use the same kit for reservoirs and (occasionally) larger rivers if possible. I realise that this is a tall order!!!

I have done some research andhave found adeal that includes a Greyflex M2 9.5' rod, grxi reel with 3 xtra spools and 3 Snowbee's lines. All this seem good stuff. I'm not sure, however, whether to go for a#6/7 rod with #6 lines or a #7/8 rod with #7 lines.

Which would be best? Are there any better alternatives in the same (£240) price bracket?

C

Colin North, the one and only

Sounds like a goodall round kit. I would plump for the 6/7 weight rod and 6 or 7 weight lines. You will probably find that the rodrating is a bit understated, and even a 6/7 weight will comfortably cast an 8 weight line. Therefor I would select the 7 weight lines.You may find using a lighter line much nicer and certainly, in my view, when using a floating line, bite indication will be more positive, since there will be less resistance for a fish to feel, and reject the fly.

I can't think of an alernative to the price bracket you suggest, if you want good quality that will last. You could buy, for example,the Shakespeare starter kit for about £40, which only has one line with it, but you must know the old saying "you get what you pay for" and Ibelieve you would soon be thinking that an alternative decision might have been wiser than the cheaper kits.

I hope you get sorted soon.

P

Paul Coxon

Thanks Colin. I phoned Greys this morning and the chapI spoke tosaid he would go for a 6/7 rod with a WF7 line, the 7/8 being a lot stiffer. He also said the two rod ratings (6/7) were double tapered and WF respectively,so a 6/7 rod would handle a WF7 line well.