Fly Rod Description

greener

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I am new to fishing, just into second season, and have been looking at fly rods for trout, I get the weight system and the rod flex descriptions,
what I do not understand is why lets say Wychwood advertise a fly rod as
Wychwood River & Stream and Brooks suitable Trout Grayling Fly Rod Mid Action.
Does this mean such a rod is no use on a lake that has little to no current flowing, in general does one use a lighter or heavier rod depending on river
or still water and why.

I ask because at the end of this season am looking to pick up a fly rod at
a hopefully discounted price.

With all the wind in my area I have decided on a Six weight medium fast,
or perhaps a little faster action, I basically have to stand in the river and fish a pond, then cast over the top of this to the next pond,
because I cant get access to the second pond any other way, so I need to cover a reasonable distance.

Then threes the lake which I access from the banks, the fish are well out too but there is lots of room to cast.
I can not use a long rod on the river because of bushes, so I would only go to 9' or a little over.

I currently only spin or worm for trout, which are usually small, the largest was just 15" long, most being 1/2 to 3/4 pound, which I return if at all
possible.
I do not intend to spend more than €100.00 for the rod,3 or 4 section, and I have a cracking Danielson 7/8 fly reel with three spools so am ok for a reel.

I need a light rod or at least one with a light swing weight, as I used to be a welder and my elbow aches from hauling a heavy copper cable with a heavy welding head.

Any advise welcome, Regards & Thanks to all, john

Last edited:

floatfish

Reaction score
Whatever rod you decide to buy, one piece of advice from fishermen/women to beginners , " Is, always ,if at all possible Try before you buy."
There is no point in picking a rod to find it's hard work to use or you cannot
cast with it, and hate it.