Leader advise for a #4 for trout

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to flyfishing and need some advise on how to construct
a suitable leader.
I have a 7'6" Agility Rise, I want to fish for trout in a small river, 40/50 ft wide,
with lots of obstructions, fishing mainly from bank, or wading a little when water is low.
The average trout is 3/4lb the odd 1lb and the rare 1.5lb fish.

I bought a #4 Barrio Smallstream floating line, and I have some 4' furlded
leaders, which I hope to use.
My question is, if I add maybe 2ft of 3lb Stroft for a tippet,
then add another 4 or 5 ft of heavier stroft via a loop
to the furled leader and a surgeons knot to the tippet,
will this cover my needs, an if you all think using 3lb stroft mono for my tippet is indeed good enough,
then could you suggest what diameter of stroft mono I should use to
join the 3lb tippet to my 4' furled leader, and what length it should finish up.
OR should I just use 4 to 5ft of 4lb all the way from my furled leader to the hook
given its small diameter is less than a 6x tippet anyway at only 0.12mm.
Below is a chart of the stroft mono and as you can see this line is really thin
for its breaking strain, so taking this into account, what do you all advise me to use to construct my tippet.

1kg 2.2lb 0.08mm €6.10
1.4kg 3lb 0.10mm €6.10 is this heavy enough for 3/4 to 1lb trout tippet
1.8kg 4lb 0.12mm €6.50
2.3kg 5lb 0.14mm €6.80 is this ok to join tippet to my 4' furled leader
3kg 6lb 0.16mm €7.40
3.6kg 8lb 0.18mm €7.85
4.2kg 10lb 0.20mm €8.15
5.1kg 12lb 0.22mm €8.45
6.4kg 14lb 0.25mm €8.65
7.3kg 16lb 0.28mm €9.50
8.1kg 18lb 0.30mm €10.45
10.5kg 23lb 0.35mm €11.90
14kg 30lb 0.40mm €11.90

Thanks & Regards, john

Last edited:

S-Kippy

Reaction score
Stuck on the chuffin M25 somewhere between Heathro
I wouldn't mess about constructing a stepped leader. I'd just go straight through.