Line Memory

Jim Bowdrey

Reaction score
Good morning all, Im a total novice in the art of fly fishing but Im hoping to chuck a line at Siblyback Res in Cornwall next week while Im on holiday. My fly gear hasnt been used for about 9 months and I noticed quite a bit of memory in the lines. Any suggestions how to remove it would be very helpful. I thought about laying it out on the grass and attaching a "spin doctor" and reeling it back, is it worth trying?

Cheers, Jim

S

Shrek

Hi Jim,

While that may work well for mono line on a spinnig reel, it's not too god for fly line.

The method I use is to strip the line off the reel, drop it into a bowl of warm water with a drop or two of detergent in it, leave it for a couple of minutes, then draw it out and dry it off. Before you wind it back onto the reel, give it a good stretch or steady pull, a few feet at a time. Once you've worked your way down the whole line, do it again. When you've done that, it should be nice and limp and lie fairly straight.

Then you can wind it back onto the reel.

The best way to get rid of memory in a line though is to get a fish on.

Hope this helps

Adrian

C

Colin North, the one and only

On the bank, as an alernative, get someone to hold the end of your line, walk away letting the line pull off the reel. When you get to the end, or as far as you are likey to cast, give it a good stretch by holding the reel, whilst your friend hangs on to the other end. If you are fishing alone, tie the tippet to something and do the same thing.

Jim Bowdrey

Reaction score