Just building a website what do you think

J

Jack Pike

In the middle of building a website and up to my eyes with <div> and <tag>'s everywhere so just wondering what your honest opinions are still needs a lot of work to do on it www.southportangling.co.uk could you tell me if the pics download ok there is a few problems with Netscape and Firefox browsers

B

Big Rik

Jack

seems good.
All pics and forms load.
tried using IE5.5 and NS7.2

Presumably you have no match section, as your match links all point back to the page they are sat on.
(e.g. The match link on the 'about' page, points to the 'about' page etc etc.)

M

matthew nightingale 2

Jack,

Looks good, nice and clear and easy to use.

The pictures are a bit small to my eyes. I run the RADAC site (www.radac.org.uk) and I've found that for the Gallery its best to put thumbnails (100 x 75 pixels) as links to the pictures which should be about 400 x 300 pixels.

Pictures need to be nice and sharp.

Hope this helps; I'm no expert but shout if I can help.

M

J

Jack Pike

Cheers Matthew thanks for that I am gonna sort out the gallery last as I found that processing the pics can take a while I will use to size that you reccomended thanks

Matt Brown

Reaction score
Hi Jack, good start. I've had a quick look;

The menu changes depending on which page the user is on. For instance, on the 'waters page' 'day tickets' appears on the menu.

For now I would just create on menu then cut and paste it into each page. Or learn to use templates.

Also, the waters page doesn't fit on the screen at a res of 800x600.

On the Ribble page there's a graphic with a broken link on the bottom left.

It's copright infringment to use OS maps without permission. I usually draw a map and have a link to Multimap.com. See Donny AA for instance.

Some of the pages still have a copyright notice of "(C)2003 Company Name".

If you can suss out templates it will save you from having to edit each page seperately.