Spodding Particles

Baz

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
If I were to spod particles (small seeds) out into a depth of five foot, once the spod hits the water, what kind of spread would the particles give once they reach the bottom? Would it usually be a spread of about two foot in calm conditions.
And is there a rule of, the deeper the water, the wider the spread?
I have never used a spod before, so any advice would be helpful.

Graham Whatmore

Reaction score
I would suggest that it all depends on the tow and how quickly the particles sink. If its within grounbdbait catapult range its sometimes easier to estimate with a quick sinking mix that eliminates the tow but is it really that critical, thats the question!

Baz

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
what I was thinking Graham, was to bait an area up whithout the use of groundbait.
I have been useing pva stockings for some dry particles and these obviousely got the particles right next to the hookbait.

What I want to do now is spread the particles slightly, instead of leaving little clumps if you see what I mean.

Ric Elwin

Reaction score
Baz I'm pretty sure that your casting, however accurate it is, will give more of a spread than will happen with the bait falling through the water. When I spod, I have mounds all over the place!

D

Deecy