Improving the modern Fixed Spool Reel

dezza

Reaction score
I look with wonder at one of my latest aquisitions and at the same time wonder if it can be improved.

It is of course the Daiwa TDX 3012. I have been using it now for about 5 months and I can hardly fault it. It has a front adjusting drag. I didn't like these drags as you were likely to lose the drag screw when changing spools, However with the TDX, a non-bait runner type, there is a push button for releasing the spool and the drag adjustment is captive.

The rest of the reel, especially the ergonomics, are absolute perfection, well perhaps I'm being too picky by wanting the anti-reverse under the gear housing, not above.

But how could you improve the reels we have today? Number 1 would be incorporating a push button spool release, as with the exception of the TDX, all the other front drag reels don't have this feature.

But what do you think?

And don't be daft by wanting a wire pickup that grooves, or a drag that's jerky, or having when being wound, a noise like a growling dog with a sore throat!

barbelboi

Reaction score
Sounds good Ron, lack of a quick release to the spool of a front drag reel was also a bit of as drag. How would you compare it with the 2500/4000 Shimano DL/XT's considering the extra cost - are you paying the extra for the button or is the reel IYO superior as well?
Jerry

dezza

Reaction score
I have a pair of the Shimano DL baitrunners, and for the money they are truly superb.

However they don't have a push button release for the spool which is also of a smaller diameter than the Daiwa. The spare spools that come with these reels are plastic and not as good as the aluminium spool. With the Daiwa you get two identical spools, both with push button.

The Shimano is 1/2 the price of the Daiwa, but the Daiwa has that feel of total class that for me at any rate puts it in the very top bracket.

Tim Ridge

Reaction score