Inappropriate Stands at NEC

R

Robert Draper

I was saddened to see inappropriate stands creeping into what should be a fishing show. Barringtons may have been justified in showing some of their knives but swords and nunchaku have no place in fishing and indeed should not be shown where the general public might be tempted to buy them.

I have been training in the martial arts for four years now and I have seen the damage a pair of nunchaku can do in a supervised environment, most respectable shops will only sell them to people with a license issued by a recognised organisation.

As for swords, I have trained in Iaido and just like fishing this art is coming under threat from the antis, in this case people campaigning for the banning of all swords whether in experienced hands or not.

The tool stand was just a waste of space, if I want poor quality tools I will go to poundland which doesn't cost a fiver to get through the door. A better use of the space would have been to increase the seating for the tackle clinic or to put a proper area in for the carp fishing seminars rather than the frankly awful "Carp Dome" where only the front row could see or hear what was happening.

Sorry for the rant...

R

Ron Clay

Souns like I made the right choice this year. Rather save my money for fishing trips than visit useless exhibitions

R

Robert Draper

Don't get me wrong, the majority of the show was excellent. I sat through three Game fishing seminars/demos and four or five coarse fishing ones and was thoroughly satisfied with them, I just couldn't get near enough to the Carp Dome to see what was going on.

D

Dave Lindsay

i think the standard was not as good as last year although bob james gave an excellent talk on lure fishing. what was the point of knives and bad tools i came home with money in my pocket not a good sign although did pick up some very cheap lures from shakys stand...dave l

M

Michael Hall