Newbe help fishing for carp...

fishplate42

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to fishing and reasonably new to this forum. I have posted a few questions in the Beginner's Forum but I thought I would give the General Fishing Forum a go as I am now an experienced angler - I have caught a fish or four! :D

I have been fishing only once, so far, and I caught some fish. Nobody was more surprised than me! I was fishing using a waggler float and maggots on still water using a 12ft Ron Thompson match rod and Okuma CBF 140 reel. I also have a 11 ft Matt Hayes Adventure carp rod and size 50 carp reel that came in a starter set.

We are off fishing next weekend in the same place with the same match rod. This time I thought I would take my carp rod with me and have a go with it. My question is what sort of tackle should I try as a first attempt and what bait?

I know this is very basic stuff but I just don't know. The books and the videos just confuse me, at the moment, as everybody has a different way of fishing and I have just the one trip under my belt so the experience bank is almost empty. I know everyone says just get in and have a go, and I will, but a suggestion of where to start would be very useful.

Also, My carp rod is pictured above. From looking at it, the main difference between it and the match rod seems to be the size of the eyes. I assume it is stronger than my match rod? and or it flexes differently? CI would be grateful if somebody could explain the difference in simple terms There are other pictures of my selection of cheap starter gear pictured on my blog HERE. I know that I will probably need to upgrade most, if not all, my gear in time, but I just want to try a few things out to see what suits me best.

Ralph.

naxian62

Reaction score
Hi Ralph,
I was in a similar position 18 months ago, and as I dont know anyone else who fishes, I turned to the internet and my local tackle shop owner.