Please, tell me about fishing with bread...

fishplate42

Reaction score
I am going to have a go at fishing with bread. Unlike most, it seems, I have never tried it before. I was recently given some old tackle and among the buts and pieces were some bread punches and a press. See HERE.

Any advice would be welcome. Also, can anyone recommend a a good rod for waggler fishing for silvers at around £50.00 or less?

Ralph :)

robtherake

Reaction score
I picked up a 13ft Maver Reactorlite Match 1 for about £50 off Ebay. You'll be hard-pushed to better it with a brand-new 13 footer - it's my go-to float rod unless the fish are close in. Light, balanced, quick line pick-up, progressive anti-lock action with loads of power when you have to lean on it, but in no way is it over-powerful and brutish. What more could you want? I also have a Drennan Waggler rod (the original, and also 50 quid, second-hand) which is just as capable as the Reactorlite but has a lighter action. It's a better option if you're not expecting bullius carpio - a really sweet actioned rod. :)
Just my opinion, mind; rods are a very personal thing and everyone has their favourites.

no-one in particular

Reaction score
Breads always worth learning to fish with. It catches, it is a cheap, clean, no smelly no fuss bait. It can be adulterated in so many ways to suit all the tastes of almost any fish in any situation. Probably the most adaptable bait in existence.
I love any bait that can be taken from a supermarket shelf and that's the only effort you have to put into it.
Experiment with it and you will find some fish.
If you find yourself in a water where the fish have become too wary of it, try brown bread. Not many anglers use it.

Last edited:

robertroach

Reaction score
Just one tip, from my own experience.
It can take quite a while of feeding the swim with bread (I usually use mashed bread) to get them to switch on to it.