Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  4
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Blog Entries

Question Please, tell me about fishing with bread...

I am going to have a go at fishing with bread. Unlike most, it seems, I have never tried it before. I was recently given some old tackle and among the buts and pieces were some bread punches and a press. See HERE.

Any advice would be welcome. Also, can anyone recommend a a good rod for waggler fishing for silvers at around £50.00 or less?

Ralph
    Hmmm... Where did that one go?

My fishing blog

Default Re: Please, tell me about fishing with bread...

Have a search for Keith Speer's article "give bread a go"
    excellent.

I picked up a 13ft Maver Reactorlite Match 1 for about £50 off Ebay. You'll be hard-pushed to better it with a brand-new 13 footer - it's my go-to float rod unless the fish are close in. Light, balanced, quick line pick-up, progressive anti-lock action with loads of power when you have to lean on it, but in no way is it over-powerful and brutish. What more could you want? I also have a Drennan Waggler rod (the original, and also 50 quid, second-hand) which is just as capable as the Reactorlite but has a lighter action. It's a better option if you're not expecting bullius carpio - a really sweet actioned rod.
    Just my opinion, mind; rods are a very personal thing and everyone has their favourites.
    "I've always been mad, I know I've been mad, like the most of us...very hard to explain why you're mad, even if you're not mad..."

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by sumtime View Post
    Have a search for Keith Speer's article "give bread a go"
    excellent.
    Or Keith's post “Wet Bread” and how to get the best out of it.

Keith Speers was a master at using bread as a bait

Keith
    Happiness is fish shaped (It used to be woman shaped but the wife is getting on a bit now)