manufactured baits

robertroach

Reaction score
I have always used liked using fairly "natural", or old fashioned baits, although very occasionally I fish a floating bait for carp, using a dog biscuit. I hate the idea of so many boilies and pellets going in that it makes it harder to catch fish using "proper" baits.

The idea of bombarding your swim with boilies and then sitting down with a bolt rig attached to a 3oz lead is the exact opposite of any fishing I want to do.

I have been to a small local club lake a few times recently and fished with sweetcorn, hemp and tares and have done OK with some decent sized roach and 8 small tench up to about 3lbs on one visit.

My local tackle dealer said there were lots of bigger tench and roach and persuaded me to try some 8mm red robin pellets. I have never used pellets before but I chucked a few in, and using a bait band and a light setup on my margin pole, had an amazing afternoon with not so many small fish, obviously, but some much bigger roach and a couple of decent size bream and a 5lb 2oz tench (a PB for me).

I don't feel completely happy about joining the pellet fishers however. Seems almost too easy. Anyone else feel the same?

sam vimes

Reaction score
I hate the idea of so many boilies and pellets going in that it makes it harder to catch fish using "proper" baits.?

Any type of bait going into a water in huge quantities is going to make things a little harder. However, the idea that the use of boilies or pellets makes catching on other baits harder is about as realistic as the myth of hemp seed drugging fish.

The idea of bombarding your swim with boilies and then sitting down with a bolt rig attached to a 3oz lead is the exact opposite of any fishing I want to do.?