Long Trotting and the bulk shot dragging.

dicky123

Reaction score
As I'm no expert by a long way, I need to ask you experienced guys something I don't quite understand? I've read and been told about dragging shot along the bottom when using a heavy stick, or Avon style float.

One angler I saw was suggesting he dragged all the bulk shot on a loafer along the bottom, so that would be several like 6 AAA. The swim was shallow maybe 3-4 feet and the shot was 18'' from the hook. I don't really get this to be honest, he would be holding back hard, so the current would be forcing the shot over a smooth bottom. My understanding of dragging shot is a few number 8s maybe, with the bulk above it, maybe 2 foot above those number 8s?
If you're dragging shot like that how do you avoid false bites, rubbish on the bottom etc.

Take a look at Danny's blog with him fishing for Chub on You-Tube. Also John Wilson fishing for Grayling (the new version) when he suggest that several shot grouped together are better than one, as they will roll along the bottom, clearly he is dragging the bulk of his shot too?

As I've not tried this, maybe is the explanation I don't understand. But if anyone could enlighten me, then great. Thanks all.

****y.

sam vimes

Reaction score
I wouldn't do much more than trip bottom with a properly trotted float. However, a well over depth top and bottom float, held back hard, can work very well.

YouTube

The truth is that a relatively benign bottom is required for any kind of overdepth float fishing. It's not something I do too often as much of my local river fishing is bedrock and large cobbles. Just tripping bottom is chancing your arm. Really dragging bottom will see you doing lots of rig tying and not much fishing. A really weedy or snaggy river can be just as problematic for overdepth fishing.

dicky123

Reaction score
Sam, thats just what I thought, the Trent would just eat hook links.

Thanks mate, have not seen the about before, will study it.