eBay Listing Term?

David Rogers 3

Reaction score
I've been using eBay for nearly 10 years, so feel I ought to know the answer to this - is "off" a general auction site term employed for multiple listings of the same item, e.g. "6 off used FLYING "C" spinning lures"?

The first few times I saw this, I assumed the seller meant "of" and couldn't spell (!), but I see it so frequently now, and from different sellers, that this can't be the case...

I can't say I've encountered this anywhere other than on eBay, but maybe I've just led a sheltered life!?

wetthrough

Reaction score
I use the term all the time. It probably comes from 'cut me # off will you?' or 'take # off the pile'.

mikench

Reaction score
You can buy a float off the seller but he may only have one of them in stock!

I check quantities carefully!

sam vimes

Reaction score
I don't believe that is has any particular significance beyond being an indicator of a generally poor command of English and grammar. You can see similarly poor standards in all sorts of sources, even from otherwise well educated and qualified individuals. Once upon a time, this would have been a concern to many, but the numbers of those that give a damn are steadily diminishing. I'm not particularly convinced that it is a big issue unless the writer is doing so in a professional capacity.

iain t

Reaction score
A lot can't spell properly these days due to the shortcuts when using text on smartphones.

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
If it is advertised as "6 off" then one would reasonably expect to receive a total of 6 (in quantity) FLYING "C" spinning lures . . . . .

As others have noted however, this is more than likely to be the result of a poor command of the English language, as you see it all the time; there instead of their, your instead of you're, of instead of have, and vise-a-versa . . . . .

If you are considering a bid then it would be advisable to contact the seller for clarification.

David Rogers 3