Thanks Thanks:  13
Likes Likes:  50
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Split shot

Default Split shot

After reading the thread on lost gear I realised i'm in need of some split shot. I use anchor double cut but the price of it is insane!
    Before I ebay some lead ones from Ireland does anyone know of a outlet for the anchor double cut shot at a reasnable price?

Stuck on the chuffin M25 somewhere between Heathrow and the A3

Default Re: Split shot

Good luck with that, Ian. I needed to restock with shot a while back and nearly fell over when I saw the price.

I went into angling direct last week and bought a pint of maggots and new 8 way anchor shot.

I stood at the counter to pay with a £10 note in my hand thinking that was more than a nought and I would get some change ….

It come to £11.30 (£8.40 for the shot & £2.90 for a pint of maggots)

The small refill tubs are £1.95 each.
    Trust me I’m an Engineer

Quote Originally Posted by S-Kippy View Post
    Good luck with that, Ian. I needed to restock with shot a while back and nearly fell over when I saw the price.
    Whoever is making them is making a serious profit!

Quote Originally Posted by chrissh View Post
    I went into angling direct last week and bought a pint of maggots and new 8 way anchor shot.

I stood at the counter to pay with a £10 note in my hand thinking that was more than a nought and I would get some change ….

It come to £11.30 (£8.40 for the shot & £2.90 for a pint of maggots)

The small refill tubs are £1.95 each.
    Sounds like they stung you on the maggots also.

Blog Entries

I have used my larger shot so many times they struggle to grip the line, smaller stuff I have to hold in my small forceps I drop loads while trying to move it round until the split is facing up so that I can drop the line into it.

I have toyed with getting something else instead of shot but that is even more expensive to loose.
    •The crow may be caged, but its thoughts are in the cornfield