Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  10
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Do you try to catch every fish you can?

The big rivers around here can be very poor midwinter, and I've been fishing local brooks and small rivers last few times out.

The fish, mostly chub, are quite scarce; the habitat is not great, with a lot of threats and a chequered history.

The places are a pleasure to fish, if you like that miniature kind of thing, and it can be amazing to see what's managing to live in them.

Stuck for somewhere to fish for a couple of hours today, I considered going again, but I felt I should give these fish a break - I'd probably catch the same ones from the same swims.

Are there any fish you could catch, but decide not to, for whatever reasons?

Default Re: Do you try to catch every fish you can?

The only fish I do not like catching are eels, trying the Dove tomorrow for chub & grayling if there playing
    Trust me I’m an Engineer

If the weathers anything like round here Kev, i'd give it a miss bud .

Regarding the fish being the same ones, Maybe one or two will be but there'll most likely be a lot more there that you have never seen so I wouldn't let that bother you .

4. Default Re: Do you try to catch every fish you can?

I fish a smallish river for chub and barbel and one swim in particularly seems to have a few resident barbel, that are very recognisable, that don't seem to stray very far from the swim and every time I fish the swim I catch the same fish so I don't often fish the swim as it doesn't seem very fair.

I tend to avoid certain species in warm weather.
    Last edited by stillwater blue; 15-01-2019 at 09:15.

Blog Entries

I don't normally fish for pike and zander,mainly because I don't enjoy them much,I don't target eels,but don't mind catching the odd one of two,I don't target dace,but they are lovely fish...

Blog Entries