Prawns, cockles and mussels

mikench

Reaction score
I have had success with prawns on some waters but not all the time and total failure on others. Mussels come of the hook or hair quite easily and I haven't caught consistently. I have never caught on cockles.

This brings me to my question of the day. I can locate cockles and mussels quite easily but they are pickled. I usually pour of the vinegar and wash them in water but have occasionally tried them straight out of the jar. I can buy fresh mussels and cook them but there wouldn't be any left for the fish. What do others do?

theartist

Reaction score
I'm still learning about prawns.

I find Asda's ones work well and Sainsburys don't, of course the lack of confidence could be a self fulfilling prophecy when using both but it has happened so many times to make me think i'm not totally bonkers (In that respect anyway ;)). Also think they can spoil quite easily and need looking after on the bank

S-Kippy

Reaction score
Stuck on the chuffin M25 somewhere between Heathro
I'm a fan of cockles...both to eat and as bait but I only ever use the frozen ( non pickled ) ones. You can wash the pickled ones but to my mind you will never get rid of the vinegar completely and in doing so you are rinsing most of the scent down the plughole. Tesco used to do a big bag for a fiver but not any more...Sainsburys still stock them round here. They can be instant and also devastating for tench. Rarely use prawn as to my mind they are just not selective enough...perch love em as do carp and bream. I do use them but not often.

Never done any good on mussels...other baits have been much more productive for me so even though they look terrific I never use them. Bearing in mind I am almost always trying to avoid carp and bream.

Last edited:

theartist

Reaction score
Rarely use prawn as to my mind they are just not selective enough...perch love em as do carp and bream. I do use them but not often.