What can I do about an assortment of old unmarked line?

Gaston664

Reaction score
I have various spools of line that are just unmarked.

It seems in good nick but I have no idea what weight the line is.

It would be great if I could mark it all so its easy for me to grab a spool depending on the situation etc.

Probably a dumb question but I'm fairly new at this and just basically been using the and set up over and over, I'd like to start using more awareness when it comes to specific tools for specific jobs or conditions,so it seems a shame for this line to just not get used because I don't know way breaking strain it is.

Do I just have to kinda guess?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

rayner

Reaction score
If it were me I would certainly throw the lot in the bin. Hooks and line are the most important bits of tackle we use.

Gaston664

Reaction score
If it were me I would certainly throw the lot in the bin. Hooks and line are the most important bits of tackle we use.
I was considering that to be honest!

It will be nice to recycle the lot and get fresh line for sure.

Easier that way too.

rich66

Reaction score
Personally I’d strip it all off and send it for recycling. Put new lines on the spools you want at the b.s you want.
You could use the old stuff as backing line on those spools so you don’t have to buy so much new.

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
If you can afford to I’d say bin the lot and start again. You can get a rough idea of breaking strains from the diameter, more accurately if you have a micrometer. You say you think the line “is in good Nick”, do you know for sure and how old the line is?

Plenty of good budget bulk spools of line on the market, just be sure to label them so you know what you have. I use a label printer to do mine.

Keith M

Reaction score
I have my line strengths marked either by using a sticky label on the inside of my spools, or by using some tippex and putting a blob for each pound bs. also on the inside of my spools.