River rights

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
The piece of river for sale as linked to in the bargains thread has jogged my memory.

This could be one for Mike. I had a recent conversation with my local club the CDAA.

I’ve always been under the impression that any river (not the banks), so fishing from a boat for example, is free to all unless the banks either side have a land owner that has “riparian rights”

This was my thought for the Stour running through my area, where I know anglers on boats are not members. But the club states they have the “ rights” to the actual water, they pay a rent to someone for the use of the banks. I did ask if that’s the case why don’t they ban the intensely annoying canoeists and also prosecute anyone removing a fish from that bit of river, they never replied to those questions.

What’s the reality?

Aknib

Reaction score
I'm no expert but I was always under the impression that if a club rents the fishing rights from the riparian owner then that would include any permissible boat fishing and that anyone fishing from a boat in such circumstances without permission would in effect be stealing the fishing rights.

The canoe thing is a whole different can of worms and after all has been argued to exhaustion it basically, in my eyes, boils down to militant paddlers knowing that they are guilty of civil trespass whilst also knowing that there is little anyone can really do about it.

The Angling Trust have had a go and they hoist a successful test case but it's a drop in the ocean compared to amount of daily occurrences of the problem.

It simply can't be effectively policed on a basis where the perpetrators can be identified and held to account on an effective basis and the paddlers know this.

It crosses a line where abuse and/or threats are involved in that it then becomes a criminal matter but the same complexities, and more, hold any effective action back.

Neil Maidment

Reaction score
Not so!