Replacing reel bands with a seat

rich66

Reaction score
Hi all I’ve watched a few videos on YouTube about replacing reel seats but the only thing I can’t find is what size bore to use on the replacement seat.
The rod I’m looking at changing the blank is 15mm on the handle section. There’s no rings on the section just a short blank the rest is cork handle. My guess is to allow a couple of mm so go for a 17mm bore?
Anyone ever done one and does that sound right
Thanks

sam vimes

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I did do a bit of shot in the dark DIY last month. I spent quite some time raking through Fuji catalogues and rod building component shop websites. As mine was a rod shortening exercise, I needed as small a diameter (bore) reel seat as is available. What I found was that you are very unlikely to get smaller than 16mm. Many are 17 or 18mm. If they are only available in 18mm+ sizes, they probably aren't intended for normal coarse/match rods. Chances are that you will have to pack out the blank for the seat to fit properly. The other option is to sleeve the reel seat with carbon tube intended for the purpose. You'll still have to pack a bit, but not as much.

IIRC, I had a blank diameter of approximately 13.5mm to play with. I bought a 16mm bore reel seat and a carbon tube to sleeve it. That left me no more than 1.5mm of packing out to do. I hadn't planned to do it myself, but I got bored and skint over Christmas! It looked and felt OK with its cut and shaped Duplon handle. It's now with my friendly local rod builder having a couple of eyes whipped on. I can just about whip myself, but my stabs at varnishing whippings are not the best. I guess I'll have saved at least £30 doing the handle myself. With luck, I'll have the rod back in a week or so, ready to fit the recently acquired butt cap. All I have to do then is get out and use it.