Angling, The never ending Journey

bracket

Reaction score
For me it most likely began when a nine year old school friend said one day “Lets go darn Trent fishing” and that was it. Initially it was just something else to do and not be taken seriously. What tackle I had was cadged, borrowed or bought and very basic. As a teenager, I began match fishing, and that changed everything. I started to look what other, more experienced anglers, were doing and using, and took most of it on board. Back then the range of gear available was limited and most serious anglers augmented what could be bought, by making their own. This was something I began to copy. I made floats, tied hooks, even made myself a Spanish Reed rod. When I started work, as an apprentice engineer, I had more scope then and made rod rests, bank sticks, disgorgers, swimfeeders, leads and all manner of gadgets. Some worked, most didn't, but it got the mind ticking and channelled towards ever expanding and trying to improve my gear. This continues today and produces interesting off shoots. Rod bags tend to deteriorate, so I had a shot at making one. From rod bags I progressed to making a bait apron and wallets for floats. I made leatherette cases for my fixed spool and centre pin reels. This sent me off on a sewing tangent and I had a go at making a man’s shirt. So from a modest beginning, my angling journey has taken diverse twists and turns and because of it I have acquired skills I would not have expected. So far, I am happy to say, the final destination is nowhere in sight, so I continue to continue. Where has your sojourn taken you? Pete.

John Keane

Reaction score