Canadian pondweed.

seth49

Reaction score
A new club I’ve joined this year has a pond with lots of this in, the water is very clear and the weed is virtually all over the pond, it reaches the surface later in the year, there are lots of tench F 1s and some carp plus lots of silvers.

Any tips on fishing this as I’ve little experience of fishing in weed, when I did fish it once before the lockdown I lost over half of the fish I hooked due to them diving into the weed and coming off.

Feeder fishing does seem to be best for catching the tench etc, any help would be appreciated.

markcw

Exiled Northerner
Reaction score
Oxford, and occasionally Warrington Lancs
Can you rake a swim ? Not only will it clear the weed ,it will also bring any invertebrates out of the bottom and attract fish.
If you do rake it, check the weed for any small fish or eggs and try and return them to the water.

mikench

Reaction score
Raking is the only answer I’m afraid Keith as pesticides are banned by the EEC. Try one of these or Gardner make one you can cast and retrieve. I’ll be honest I have a Jakes rake but it remains unused. If a water is covered in the stuff I either find a swim that isnt or go elsewhere.

Jakes Rakes

You can make one yourself and there are various examples shown on YouTube.

markcw

Exiled Northerner
Reaction score
Oxford, and occasionally Warrington Lancs
I just buy 2 cheap rakes, cut handles off, put rake heads back to back zip tied together, a good length of "rope" tied to it and away you go,
Start close in and work outwards that way you are not dragging raked weed through unraked weed as I have seen quite an few people do that.

flightliner

Reaction score
Lots of fish like to move about just over it looking for food.