Zander, let's not waste them

R

Ron Clay

I see that a particular water authority wants to cull zander in certain waters. Certainly there seem to be too many of them at present in some waters. The best answer is to allow zander anglers a bag limit on the understanding that the fish are eaten. Zander are one of the best freshwater table species of all. I've eaten them as Walleye in America, in Poland and a few in Britain. For those who are interested, I have a few zander recipes for you. However if you go out zander hunting for the pot, do take a really effective "bonker" with you. A trout priest is not up to it. A small tack hammer is ideal, one blow aimed between the eyes brings instant death

R

Rob Brownfield

Geez Ron, I think you are going to get some stick for this posting...especially if Neville Fickling gets to see it!!

I cant comment on Zander as I have no experience of them, but I see they are being caught on the fly at a certain well know Trout water down south, and being put back alive.

P

Paul Williams

Ron, you are right zander make lovely eating!! i don't see anything wrong with taking a smallish one for the pot from a heavily stocked water....but culls can get silly if not handled properly.
As Rob says watch out for NJF...especially if he has a small tack hammer in his hand, lol........

R

Ron Clay

Ok chaps, here is a list of all the British coarsefish I've eaten at odd times in my like
Pike(OK), Perch(excellent), Roach(fair), Dace(good), Bream(awful), Gudgeon(terrific) Tench(very good), eels(excellent),Carp(small ones good), Chub(ugh), Rudd(fair).
I've never tried a barbel but I have eaten Yellowfish in South Africa (a close relation) which have not been bad. I don't see a problem when fish are prolific in eating the odd one or two.

In Poland the local anglers eat most of what they catch and do you know the rivers are stuffed with fish

R

Rob Brownfield