fish in the drains

• Thread starter William Spencer
  • Start date
W

William Spencer

Took the wife and kids to Skegness last week for a couple of days and noticed as always the small drains dotted along the side of the roads between North Kyme and Tattershall.I used to be a van driver and between Metheringham and Woodhall Spa,drains criss cross the landscape.Does anybody know if these are worth investigating with rod and reel?

A

Ashe Hurst

They may be.

We have a small network of drains on our local marsh.

The invertabrate life is abundant, so too is the vast aray of plant life.

Sticklebacks are thriveing, so too is the bird life.
Some of the drains are connected to main water coarses or are flooded.

Whats to say a bird with some weed attached lands in the water, that bit of weed may contain a fish egg or two, maybe more.

Or a local river/stream or lake may flood, releasing fish into the drain.
Eels migrate over land to find water.

We often take no notice of small puddles of water or these drains or dithches.but unless we investigate, we will never know what suprises they may hold.

The local motorway has drainage ditches and holding pools for rainwater runoff. I went down there to explor with a few bits of tackle,maggots and bread.

Spent all afternoon catching rudd and tench, went back the following weekend and had much the same including 3 carp to 5lbs.

P

Phil Heaton

The drainage systems of Lincolnshire and I am sure most parts of the country, will join some major water source even if only to run off during wet weather.
I fish a lot of the North Linc's rivers and drains and can assure you that most of them hold fish. Over the past 5 years I have caught more 'bigger' pike in small drains than in the larger rivers.
The real hot spots seem to be where drains / rivers or even a small side stream join, especially if the area is not heavily fished.