Complete novice

Quirkyname

Reaction score
Hi all,

With the lockdown, not being able to work and having a silly amount of time on my hands I’ve been wanting to get into fishing. I used to fish a little bit when I was 12 catching fish like roach and perch, fast forward 20 years into the future and I have no idea how to get started again!

I want to be float fishing for roach and perch again, what should I be looking for when it comes to kit?

Also, what is the general etiquette when fishing? How close can I fish to someone else? If someone tells me they’ve pre-baited the area I’m in should I give up the spot?

If anyone could share some advice that would be greatly appreciated, I live near the Thames so I'll be fishing on that.

chrissh

Reaction score
Welcome to FM

12- 13ft float or match rod, 2500 size reel loaded with 4lb line

A selection of waggler floats (or Stick, Loafers and Avon if the river has a fast flow)

Hook size 16,18

18-22” landing net

3m landing net handle

Shot

Disgorger

Scissor, forceps, knife

Towel

Bait catapult

Bait boxes

Bank sticks and rod rests

Tackle bag or back pack (seat box if you don’t want a chair)

Other bit of kit you can pick up later if and when you need them

bread and meat punches

Umbrella

mikench

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. Chris has provided a comprehensive list of the basic tackle you will need which you can add to. Nobody has a right to a swim and they cannot be reserved at least on waters I fish. If the peg is empty you sit down and fish .

You might start with one rod and one reel but this is the first step of 1000 mile journey. Enjoy it

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

markcw

Exiled Northerner
Reaction score
Oxford, and occasionally Warrington Lancs
Welcome to the forum, where near the Thames are you.