What's wrong with my pole setup?

Keith Hampson

Reaction score
Hi, yesterday I fished a match on my local Kiveton waters, I used pole and worm hook bait, however I got snapped 8 times on the pole, I have a yellow elastic (not sure what number it is) and 5lb main line and a 4.5lb hook lenghth to a size 14 hook, when I hooked a fish it just kept going and going and then snapped me, am I doing something wrong? I am new to match fishing and I need to learn a lot, can anyone give me some advice please, as it happens I still caught 38lb of fish and finished 3rd.

Keith

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
Not sure t.b.h.

However, a 'yellow' elastic in Preston is only about a size 6's so maybe you need to go up a good few sizes if its Carp of a decent size you are getting in the match.

Just thought, if its a Preston Extra Yellow elastic then its around a size 16's so probably no need to change that.

Look at the tension of the elastic too, as if its too taught then a good sized fish can bottom that out and result in a break.

Whereabouts are you breaking? Hook length, aboove the hooklength or higher up the rig?

Keith Hampson

Reaction score
I lost the fish in open water, I was snapped 4 times on the hooklength, once just above the hooklength and 3 times I lost the lot including floats,my elastic was hanging out of the tip so I tightened it up around the bung

Jeff Woodhouse

Moaning Marlow Meldrew
Reaction score
I think you'd better spell out what brands of line and hooklink you are using and although it was 'yellow' elastic it tells us nothing, could be anything from a number 4 to a 16. I have 6 and 8 both yellow and Preston Slip Fluoro is 6 and 12 in yellow. Also what seemed to be the average weight of the fish you were losing?

Keith Hampson

Reaction score
I took the top 2 sections to my local tackle shop, told him what type of fishing I was doing and left it with him, I was using 5lb maxima line and a 4.5lb animal barbless hooklenght

bennygesserit