A simple pole rig? Noob here

antiquea

Reaction score
Hi guys,

So I have fished general coarse for the last 14 years, as well a few years fly fishing.

Recently I bought my first ever pole: an 8m colmic Margin. Have sorted one of the top kits with 4-6 hollow elastic, as well as a pulla bung.

The venue I will be fishing is a silverfish only snake lake. It has a depth of about 3-4 foot. Have done really well in the past using my 13ft float rod and a light insert waggler.

The pole/rig selection seems a bit of a minefield - with so many option available!

Basically, I need some one to recommend a rig I could make up to catch silvers from this fairly shallow snake lake.

Thanks!!

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
image.jpg

A simple rig like this is ok. If you want a slower fall of the bait/hook, spread out the no8's.

nottskev

Reaction score
What style of float do I go for? A dibber?

Try a couple of different sorts and see which works best for you.

f11.jpg

Ones with skinny bristles and tapered bodies (left) are probably most sensitive, but they're also a bit harder to shot correctly - a tiny shot either way makes a big difference - harder to see and more likely to drag under accidentally if you're fishing a bait on the bottom.

The one with a thicker bristle (middle) and "rounder" body will be a bit easier to see, fish and control.

Myself, I really like dibber-type floats (right) You can shot them virtually flat to the water and still see them well; they are more forgiving, shot-wise - you don't have to be so exact with the tiny shot, and they hold up well if you want to put some line and a small shot on the bottom because the fish want a dead still bait when it's windy or the water is towing.

If you're just starting off, I'd go with the dibber, but avoid ones with very short stems and big bulbous tops; they're not suitable for general purposes.