How important are cupping kits?

antiquea

Reaction score
I know they allow you to feed very accurately, but will this mean more fish in the bag?

I normally just bowl a few groundbait balls into the swim 15 mins before I start a session, and this tends to work ok.

Obviously I am very new to pole fishing, and would like to get better.

Whilst I am not a match angler, I would still like to bag as many fish as possible.

Sorry for the newbie question. :D

antiquea

Reaction score
I'm also new to fishing 'lines'. I normally just fish straight out at 2 o'clock at around 6m, and also move over t 3 o'clock when the fishing gets slow.

B

binka

As a generalisation cupping is more important when you are feeding for large numbers of smaller fish with smaller baits, imo.

Not always though.

There are occasions where I prefer to spread the feed around such as when I'm expecting a large head of fish on, say, a gravel pit and where the rest won't spook so easily if they're spread over a wider but still relatively tight area when one is hooked.

Despite giving up pole fishing many years ago I still use a homemade cupping kit which comprises of a circular, pint bait tub which screws onto a 12' landing net pole for when I need to be spot on when fishing off the rod tip and it often involves 'bombing' the feed down in wetted and riddled seed compost due to the heavy tow on some of the stillwaters I fish.

I think you've got to decide what you want to target and on what type of water along with what's likely to be going on beneath the surface, if you're scratching around on a canal then I would say the accuracy of cupping is very important but it's not going to be the best option for a bait 'n wait approach for large shoals of fish grazing around a gravel pit.

At the end of the day it's simply a method of introducing feed so decide how tight an area you want to feed, the quantity and frequency you want to introduce and choose the method of introduction accordingly.

Last edited: