What Rod ? What Reel ? Im a Newbie

morpheus

Reaction score
Hi All,
Im a total newbie, looking for advise on what rod and reel i should be starting off with. There are so many to choose from its mental lol:eek:

Any help really would be appreciated

Thanks

barbelboi

Reaction score
Hi Morph, first you need to advise as to your budget - also the species this tackle will be aimed at.
Jerry

sumtime

Reaction score
Like most of us olduns, we started out with a 13ft float rod (the first rod
I used was a five and a half foot plastic kid's rod and a yo-yo for a reel until I hooked into a gudgeon, my first ever fish).

If I was you I'd go around some venues and chat to anglers who don't look too busy :) some of them won't give you the time of day, others enjoy helping their fellow man out.

You don't have to spend loads of dosh to enjoy this game. I use my cheaper rods and reels a lot more than the dear stuff.

morpheus

Reaction score
Thanks for the responce back guys,
budget between 100 - 150
I have never fished before so dont want to run before i can walk.
Course fishing is what i want to do i beleive
Im in Coventry and Thinking of commercials and maybe rivers

Cheers
Morph

jacksharp

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
The list is endless!

Shakespeare Mach3, Drennan Series 7, Shimano Hyperloop, Maver Reactorlite, are all good rods in varying lengths. If you are going to fish commies and rivers then go for 13ft.

Shakespeare Sigma and Agility, Shimano Nexave and Hyperloop, Drennan Series 7 and FD are all good reels and a 3000 (or 30) size in combination with any of the above rods will fit your budget.

I have recently acquired the Drennan 3000FD and the concept is an interesting one. It has 3 spools, all aluminium, and they are each slightly different diameters and take exactly 100m of a set diameter of line. This does away with buying bulk spools and putting 300m of line on a reel and 240m of it never seeing the light of day!

markv

Reaction score