New to fishing/pole/canal

kimura88

Reaction score
Hello all

(QUESTIONS IN BOLD TO SKIP THE BORING STUFF)

A bit about me , im a total beginner now to fishing,i used to fish as a kid and up to teenager but guided and never learnt to actually setup or sort problems,just got set up ,told where to cast to ,and caught fish haha

Ive got a little bug to get back into fishing every now and then for a chill,all my other hobbies are motorbikes,cars and martial arts

I plan to fish the canal mostly ,I am Wolverhampton based so the Staffordshire/Worscestershire canal runs very close to my house and used to fish parts of it.

However ive forgot everything

So I looked at cheap kit today online and bits of information on poles and whips as I think this is the simplest way to get back into a pleasure fish without spending too much money or getting too complex,except I still have tonnes of questions haha

First off I was looking at this whip Middy Baggin Machine Whip Ready-to-Fish Package

Is this ok for a complete beginner not looking to catch huge fish or bag up just yet?

Also,it has elasticated top kits so im not sure if this is classed as a pole or whip?

It has 3 top kits,highest is 24 elastic rating,is that really heavy duty and not needed for a canal or are different manufacturers elastics rated at different strengths ?

The top kits with elastics,do they all have a generic type of way to affix your rig ?

What is a good rig /elastic combo for just basic canal fishing.Probably going to try get another pre made rig to keep things simple

Ive kind of put together a little list of what I need for basic fishing,maybe you can add/ subtract

Pole/whip
rigs
shot
extra hooks
plummet
seat/bag
bait box
disgorger
unhooking mat
rod licence
landing net
bait

Realise its a lot of questions,and may have missed the obvious on some questions
Thanks for any help

Last edited:

john step

Reaction score