Some questions from an idiot (premade rigs, shot, line)

kimura88

Reaction score
Hello
I managed to grab a few unplanned hours down the canal this weekend gone, as I'm new to fishing I thought I'd just get down the canal, setup and see what happens for a couple of hours.

Few problems I found that I'd like to try figure out before I spend a day fishing properly

I went down with 3 pre tied rigs (off ebay)
The first rig was 5lb main line, 4lb hook length but a 14 hook, I got a few bites on this but never got anything in, I changed to the other lighter rigs thinking maybe the fairly large hook was a problem for tiddlers.??

So the next two rigs didn't come off the winders very easily, one tangled (is there a certain technique to get the rig off cleanly, think I'm being dumb)?

They also would not sit properly in the water,one was high, the other lay flat despite adding shot.

Another thing, on two of the 3 rigs, the line from the float to the tip sat wavy on top of the water and the wind wasn't helping, do you actively straighten this line out with the whip so as you strike, that slack hasn't got to be taken up, or do you let it sit on the water?

Thanks in advance for replies

theartist

Reaction score
I went down with 3 pre tied rigs (off ebay)
The first rig was 5lb main line, 4lb hook length but a 14 hook, I got a few bites on this but never got anything in, I changed to the other lighter rigs thinking maybe the fairly large hook was a problem for tiddlers.??

I think your problem could be solved by binning those ebay rigs, (especially if they are cheap tat) The line sounds a tad too heavy, the hook is a bit too big for the canal and if the whole thing is poor quality then that's your problems right there.

Try going down a good tackle shop and getting some better line/hooks and a bit of advice, explain that your just after tiddlers on the canal

kimura88

Reaction score