Hi, I'm very new...

Monters

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So, my career has me sitting in front of a computer for 50+ hours a week and it can be quite stressful. I'm also what you'd call an introvert and mostly work from home.

Anyway, I've been considering taking up fishing for 6-8 months now. I figured it would help me relax and get me outside the house without making me feeling too anxious. I'm still compiling my list of equipment and scoping out where to fish. However, I purchased my 12-month license this morning, so look out for my stupid questions in the near future :)

Craig

mikench

Reaction score
Fishing is perfect for relaxation and mindfulness ! Welcome to the forum! Enjoy the acquisition of your initial tackle and don't worry it never stops!!

john step

Reaction score
Welcome to fishing Craig. Sitting for 50 hours at a computer sounds awful. On the plus side you must be very very IT confident.
There is so much info about fishing on Youtube.
Do be careful about buying too much tackle to start with though. You can make expensive mistakes buying blind on ebay for example.

Most people seem to start on a commercially run fishery nowadays.
I would consider finding such a fishery local to you and taking a walk around it and unobtrusively seeing what is what.

A good starting point would be a tackle shop. They can be a bit thin on the ground nowadays. The smaller type of shop is best not the big supermarket type.

All fish give a tingle on the end of the line and a buzz when the float goes under....not just big fish.

I hope someone near to you in Stoke will come up on here with a good local and friendly tackle shop.

Let us all know how you get on. Even the disasters which will happen. Tight lines.

O

O.C.F.Disorder