Not an angler

Reaction score
Hey there!

Let's address the elephant in the room: as the title of this thread says, I'm not an angler. I'm a translator (also found in my username). My reasons for joining this forum are as follows:

I'm an English → Hungarian / Hungarian → English translator working for a dubbing studio in Romania, Europe. We deal mostly with documentaries, however, our manager has recently acquired a large collection of fishing shows (over 10 individual shows, multiple seasons of each - Carp Wars, Games Fishers, Gone Fishin' just to name a few). I'm currently working on three shows simultaneously: Fishing with Des Taylor, Gone Fishin' and Games Fishers. My task is to translate the scripts from English into Hungarian.

Despite being an experienced translator, the terminology of fishing proves difficult to me for many reasons, the lack of terms in Hungarian being just one of them. It is essential for me to translate these scripts accurately, since the majority of the viewers are anglers themselves. This is why I have decided to reach out to y'all. Dictionaries are useless in this field, and the few anglers that I know personally do not speak English all that well.

To coin new phrases or to paraphrase the names of the different jigs, rigs, baits and techniques, I first need to understand them, since resorting to word-for-word translation yields questionable results. If some of you could spare some time to explain a concept to me every now-and-then, I'd be grateful. Also, you'd be contributing to a much better viewing experience for the Hungarian angler community, for which I'm sure they'll be grateful as well.

So spare me a few secs, please...

nottskev

Reaction score
I would think there are people on here who could re-word samples of fishing jargon into more everyday terms, or gloss any technical terms.

Why not post a few samples of the type of expression you're trying to translate?

Reaction score