Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Canon EOS

Blog Entries

I am looking at buying a replacment to my old Fuji Finepix digital camera.

Not really interested in 'professional' quality Nikons etc, asI only usea camera for record shots, landscapes and riverscapes.

I've been looking at the various models in the EOS range, and am becoming rapidly confused (I am not a techie) so any simple help would be appreciated.

PS,I opted forthe Canon as I can apparently use mySLR Canon lenses with the Canon digital - but I have also been told that you have to multiply the focal length by 1.5 (?) not sure why though.

Scholars have long known that fishing eventually turns men into philosophers.

Unfortunately, it is almost impossible to buy decent tackle on a philosopher's salary. ~

Patrick F. McManus

Derbyshire: best beer, best cheese, best puddings.
    Blog Entries

You can use the lenses, that's the reason I bought a Canon digital after owning a Canon EOS 5 35mm model. The Speedlight flashes are compatible also.

The multiplying focal lengths is because the digital sensor where the film plane used to be is a smaller surface area than 35mm film so it affects the field of view afforded by the lens.

I bought an EOS 350D a few years ago(I think), 7 million pixels. It does what I need it to do, it has a fully manual setting, auto settings of varying complexity and I'll never be blowing images up past standard 10x8 frame size so I don't need a higher resolution camera.

I'd concentrate on getting a resolution suitable for your intended use, the controls on the higher end models are intended for professional photographers, I don't use half the settings on mine even though I know what they're for.
    I believe in reintarnation - I'll come back to life as a hillbilly.