Lure Fishing on Canal

J.B

Reaction score
What do you think of lure fishing on a canal is it worth a try for Pike and is now the right time to try for them. Also if you have tried it what lure patterns are good.

Paul Mallinson 2

Reaction score
Which canal mate? One of them small southern ones or one of them proper nothern ones?

Its definately worth while. I would wait till we have a warm spell though. I seem to do well on slow sinking jerknaits on my local canal.

J.B

Reaction score
I Live in the West Midlands mate we have miles and miles of canal round here the Jerkbaits you use are they the rubber ones you will have to excuse my dodgy questions as I am only very new to lure fishing.

S

Stevepike

lure fishing is always harder this time of year, because of the cold weather. pike are cold blooded and tend to slow down in the colder months. thats not to say you wont catch.
a plug, spoon, jerkbait etc worked slow and close to the bottom quite often does the trick.
the main thing is to locate the pike first, find out where the food fish are. speak to the match/pleasure anglers nicely and you can get loads of info from them.
i prefer to lure fish rivers this time of year, the pike are more active in flowing water.

Paul Mallinson 2

Reaction score
jerk baits are usually made out of wood mate.

have a look at the fox website and they have ipctures of all their mini jerkabaits on there which are suitable for most standard lure outfits.

J

jon helyer

I'd recommend the Kuusamo Professeur or a Lucky Strike Lizard (both spoons). Work on canals, or anywhere else!

C

Chris Bishop

Something that floats and works well a couple of feet down like a jointed Rapala, Big S or Shad Rap.

If you use a fixed spool reel get a couple of the bigger Ondex spinners. They're really light and lift up nicely when the blade kicks in, so you can fish them slow in shallower water.

J.B

Reaction score