Catfish queries

shynes123

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

There is a great little fishery fairly local to me that i frequently go to for my carp fishing which consists of a very small top lake which contains at least one 20Ib+ Cat and a larger bottom lake that contains several going up to about 40Ib, and i have decided to have a go at catching one this summer. I have never fished for catfish before, so i am going to try the 20 pounder in the small top lake first, and i was wondering if i could have any tips to get started. Also is my current carp gear up for the job? I have two 2.75Ib test curve Fox Warrior XT rods and two Fox Stratos. Will 18Ib mono be enough?

Thanks in advance,
Sonny.

john blundell

Reaction score
Hi mate, i'm no expert, as i have caught only one catfish in my life! BUT, i have done an awful lot of reading before i went to make sure i went witht he best chance possible.

The fish Happened to be the lake record of 49lb!

This is quite a valid point, in that you don't really fish for big fish, you just fish for fish. (i know some do target big fish with bait size etc but you get the point) They aren't going to bite your arm off when you land them, they are very calm on the bank.

Catfish are much much much less finniky than carp. They are thought to have a sense of smell second only to the eel, and as predators, they are opportunist feeders. If i were in your position i'd fish the lake with the most cats in to maximise your chances, and then you might also bag a bigger fish! They play similar to carp rather than say pike, going off the one i landed and the 4 that my fishing partner had over our 48 hours. By that i mean they slower powerful pulls. That is were the similarity seems to end though as the power is ridiculous! 18lb will be fine. (I landed my 49lb on 12lb mainline with 2.75 test, as it was my first trip although i now have 18lb)