Which multiplier?

John Greenwood

Reaction score
Hello there.

I have just bought a 6' Jerk rod with pistol grip and I'm needing advise on buying a miltiplier reel. I've never used one before, and don't have any idea on which to start out with. Can anyone advise?

Cheers

W

Wolfman Woody

Pistol grips demand low profile multipliers.

A stand-up type like Abu 5000s just don't work and you'll tire out your wrist.

Look for something like a Shimano Curado
15448.jpg

You can see how about 1/3 rd of the winding mechanics sits below the reel seat of the rod. This makes it far more comfortable to hold and thumb the spool etc.

Look for branded names, Daiwa, Shimano, even these Quantums are good if you can find them
QCDR.JPG

You may have to look a fair bit on Ebay. Watch for the sellers though an ddon;t go jumping in with a bid until you know what you are bidding for.

W

Wolfman Woody

Sorry, I meant the Shimano Citica, a lot cheaper than the Curado, but if you have the money ......
738.jpg

Nathan

Reaction score
When using a multiplier reel do you find braid or mono better? I use braid for all my lure fishing but i was a bit concerned that braid on a multiplier would need to be quite thick to stop wind knots

Steve Weaver

Reaction score
For jerkbaiting the lack of stretch in braidmakes it much easier to get the correct action in the lures. Unfortunately you do need to up the B/S to avoid crack offs. I have 40lb powerpro on my medium outfit and 80lb on my heavy jerkbait outfit. I know it sounds excessive but the diameter isabout the same as 20lbmono and it means you get your lures back if they snag!

Nathan

Reaction score
I currently use 30lb Berkley Whiplash Proon my fixed spool reel for light - medium lures, its a great line but I tend to get a few wind knots every now & then. I'd like to get a multiplier for the winter pike session so can i use the same brand of line in a higher breaking strain or would you recommend something else?

Steve Weaver

Reaction score