Drop shotting

swizzle

Reaction score
I'm looking into buying my first drop shot rod, with the Fox Rage Ultron rod being the rod I'm considering buying! Can any of you gents in the know speak for or against this choice and recommended an alternative? I'm completely new to this method and style of fishing, what should I know and not know about it?

Thanks in advance

Colin

laguna

Reaction score
I've heard good things but don't have any first hand experience with the Fox Ultron spinning/drop shot rods.
I use a 6ft telescopic travel rod for drop shotting which I bought in Spain for around 120 euros. Its ultra light and its just the right length to jig n wiggle a worm all day. Anything longer than 6 or heavier may cause fatigue as well as accentuates too much wrist movement at the tip. I feel a longer rod is only really suitable to a up and down movement, not side to side.

My own preference is to fish up and down and side to side in a continuous wave fashion. This might not be the correct way but the perch don't complain one bit.

naxian62

Reaction score
Seems a lot of dough to lay out on a start up. Have a look at the HTO Tronix 73 1-8gram. Had a waggle of one these very very sensitive but still a bit of oomph if you should hook into something larger than expected.
Was close to buying one of the new Spro s last week, so sexy!

B

binka

Use anything you've got and then, when you get tired of sitting there constantly jigging a soft plastic or worm with a tired arm for an endless procession of 2oz perch you'll maybe realise that it's not what it's cracked up to be and you will have saved yourself a tidy sum of money!

Or it could just be me which is quite likely :)

S-Kippy

Reaction score
Stuck on the chuffin M25 somewhere between Heathro