Return to predator fishing

gaznotts53

Reaction score
hi all newbie to this site. I am just returning to pike fishing well predator fishing as like fishing for the biggest fish of all (Perch) and hopefully get a Zander at some point. Used to mainly lure fish Grantham Canal, river Glen at Spalding. getting back into fishing generally but want to really get back into piking this winter. has anyone got any tips on venues? i'm thinking of giving West lake at Colwick a go as it is right on my doorstep. I don't mind travelling and I'm also thinking of giving A1 pits a go and maybe a return to the river Glen and the surrounding area. Also I would love to go up Scotland for a night or two if anyone fancies car and petrol sharing.

wardalan1987

Reaction score
Hi Gaz welcome, I'm a relative noob here too if I'm honest. Were you looking at starting lure fishing again or are you leaning more towards dead/live bait option?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B

binka

Hi Gaz,

Welcome to FM mate.

I've got a few old pike haunts which I can pm you about, whether or not they have in the meantime been subject to EE's poaching I'm not too sure.

You will get zander practically anywhere along the middle and lower Trent as well as the Trent & Mersey and connecting canals such as the Coventry, which is well within striking distance at its nearest point at Fradley Junction, I'm not sure about their proliferation into the upper Trent river although I would be very surprised if they're not there in numbers given the proximity to other nearby waterways which hold them.

Either way, good luck with it and I hope you stick around to let us know how it's going :)

gaznotts53

Reaction score