dead baiting.

rayner

Reaction score
Before I go any further I have never dead baited for perch but it could be a plan.
Being a total novice and not wanting to start on the wrong foot what are the chances of catching a commercial perch with a dead bait, probably Gudgeon.
Any advice that may help I will take. I'm not really after any secrets but a bit of an idea would be good.
Mostly rigs and baits just to get me started.
It's not nailed on that I will fish a dead bait.

john step

Reaction score
Its a very good method. You say commercial. If so there is the advantage of no pike present and therefore no need for wire trace. Therefore softer presentation.

My favourite has been a small rudd or roach. Cut the head end off to leave about 2 or 3 inches of the tail end to use as the bait. This lets the juices flow and is a great attractor.
Trim the tail fins so as not to impede the hook.

Preston/Korum quick stops are great for this method. Make a hole through the tail end with the stop needle and then push a quick stop through on a hair on a largish hook size. Size 6 has been OK for me.

I find perch whoosh down a deadbait and give a good run on a hair like this. No mucking with shy bites! The bonus is that there is minimal chance of the deep hooking with the hook up inside the mouth not the gut.

I use 8lb bs main line and 15lb Merlin braid hooklink which is very soft. This doesnt seem to put the perch off one iota but enables the odd carp to be landed without breakage. AND YOU WILL HOOK CARP ON A COMMERCIAL ON DEADBAIT.

Last week I experimented with lamprey section and the perch loved them.

I fish on a small bomb and light bobbin or a top and bottom float overdepth and twitched back every 5 minutes os so then re cast to a differnt point of an arc.

Hope this helps. Tight lines.

greenie62

Reaction score
...It's not nailed on that I will fish a dead bait.

I would recommend hair-rigging rather than nailing!:D

.... most I know of don't allow deadbaiting