Braid mainline for pike.

mickb

Reaction score
Hi everyone. Before I start I just want to say I'm new to pike fishing. For the last couple of months I've just been fishing canals for them and have caught a few jack pike. Nothing big. Its almost october so im about to hit the lodges. Ive done quite a lot of reading and also watched dvds. It seems that most pike anglers swear by braid these days. I see all the advantages. No stretch so hooks are easier to set at distance (pike have very bony mouths), low diameter for breaking strain (longer casts. Deadbaits aren't exactly aerodynamic), cuts through weed like a knife etc etc. By what I've read as well power pro keeps coming up time and time again. I've looked on eBay and for 275m of the stuff it's a whopping £29.99. That's £60 quid to fill up two spools. I know the stuff is best on the market but is there a cheaper brand that is any good? There a lots of cheaper ones on ebay. I've tried a lot of mono lines and to be honest I find the cheaper ones such as daiwa sensor, big game, sufix tritanium just as good as the expensive ones. Is there a cheap braid that's just as good as more pricey brands?

thecrow

Reaction score
Never used anything other than Power Pro, so cant help with other makes but it lasts and lasts so can work out quiet reasonable really after the initial layout.

smudger172

Reaction score
i have used braid for the last 20 years or so and can not see why you would not use the best available. £60 for two spools will last 4-5 years then reverse the braid on the spool possible 10 years for £30.. you do the maths.. change nylon every year or braid every 10... ask yourself how much money is sat on the bank rods, reels, alarms etc £60 does not seem that much for ten years.. only my opinion...

mickb

Reaction score
When you put it like that it doesn't seem so bad. Why is power pro so much better than other braids though?

B

binka