Perch & Jack Spinner suggestions, please

Mixin123

Reaction score
I've just bought a couple of Mepps Aglia long size #0, and also a Mepps Winner size #00 as I'm wanting to try for Perch & small Pike on my local canal.

Can anyone please recommend some other spinners that are good for the job, and also, what's the best size to use?

Many thanks.

Keith M

Reaction score
I’m no expert at spinning but I have caught a fair number of Perch from the canal on tiny Mepps spinners of around an inch and a half in length (including the hook), and I also have a few tiny plugs of around the same size which I’ve also bought over the years however the tiny Mepps spinners have caught me the most Perch.

I store my tiny lures in a couple of plastic Fly containers.

I will try to post pictures of my tiny lures for Perch when I get home from my weekend away.

I keep meaning to give the small rubber lures a go but I haven’t tried them yet (except for when I’ve tried dropshotting).

Keith

Last edited:

steve2

Reaction score
Try Ondex spinners in all sizes. Caught plenty of perch on big lures and livebaits over the years when fishing for pike.
Try Ebay plenty of 2nd hand lures on there.

flightliner

Reaction score
Try the 2" yellow and red "Manns" curly tail grubs, deadly for Perch.
Also well worth considering are the silvery coloured twin tails if its canal work-- try bouncing them along the bottom by lifting and dropping your rod , these did some seriously big perch on some of the wider and deeper canals in Yorkshire some thirteen years ago - ( all poor by comparison these days).
Big S and little S work well particularly with pike and if you can come across any of the old Fox 4" jointed lures from several years ago don't miss the chance of buying a few and to let me know where you found them.
Good luck.

terry m

Reaction score
Mepps No5 (the large size) are hard to beat for perch, but also try the big garish spinnerbaits. The6 look most peculiar, but they work.

john step