Single circle hooks for pike.

mickb

Reaction score
Hi there. Just wondering if many of you have had success using single circle hooks? I was going to give them a go last year but never got round to it. From what I've read when using circle hooks the hook hold tend to be in the scissors and deep hooking is very rare. Also I've read barbless circle hooks work well as the hook pattern keeps the hooks in so unhooking is easier. Im not sure what size hooks to use so please could you advise. I only fish for pike in the winter and where i fish they go up to 20lb max but doubles are quite common.

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
As a complete novice to pike fishing my biggest concern was deep hooking. I started using circle hooks after watching this video.

YouTube

I haven’t caught many but those I have were all hooked in the scissors.

mickb

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. When you use circle hooks do you not strike? Are you supposed to just tighten up to the fish or let the fish tighten the line for you? Again this is just what ive read and never tried it myself.

Keith M

Reaction score
I haven’t used Circle hooks on deadbaits ‘yet’ but I often use double hooks on my deadbaits with the smaller point hooked into the deadbait and the larger point standing proud so that it stands a chance of catching inside the mouth when it’s picked up.

I’m going to try using circle hooks now as they do sound and look really good.

Keith

Last edited:

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
My guess is that you might lose the odd fish which you may not have done with a treble, the positives far outweigh that downside.

Keith M

Reaction score
You could be right about losing the odd fish s63 but I stopped using treble hooks a long time ago ever since I saw a picture of an emancipated Pike with its throat sewn up by someone’s trebles.

Plus Ive had enough of me struggling to release trebles from my landing net in the past and making holes in it.