Kevlar Tress

Butcherboy

Reaction score
Has anybody used this as a trace material for Perch and Pike fishing?
If so is it any good?

Derek Gibson

Reaction score
I have no personal knowledge of this particular trace material. But like you I have been waiting for a responce on here from someone who perhaps ''has''. But in the absence of any feedback, I would be tempted to stick with traditional wire trace material.

Just my opinion.........

Sharky

Reaction score
I tried the Catfish Pro stuff but quickly gave up on the idea as it cuts quite easily with a knife or scissors. If you decide to use it for perch fishing I'd suggest change the trace after every accidental pike if that makes sense? I've never considered perch trace shy often having smaller fish chasing and nipping at the swivel on my trace, if you are thinking of live or deadbaiting for perch ignore me as I'm completely clueless in this area (and many others).

Butcherboy

Reaction score
I'm looking for a light trace material for an ultralight setup. I'm currently using a light wire setup but these are not lasting long.

preston96

Reaction score
I'm looking for a light trace material for an ultralight setup. I'm currently using a light wire setup but these are not lasting long.

My own recommendation is to decide if you are perch fishing or pike fishing.....ultra light has no part to play in pike fishing in any form.

Butcherboy

Reaction score
My own recommendation is to decide if you are perch fishing or pike fishing.....ultra light has no part to play in pike fishing in any form.

Understand and agree totally.
Perch are the target.

The Kevlar Tress is advertised for Perch and Pike fishing, I'm using wire at the moment because Pike are present in the lakes I fish.

Chico

Reaction score
I'd recommend the 15lb wonderwire for perch, very soft 48 strand. Certainly softer and safer than any hard mono and pike safe to boot. You can even knot it.

Sold here

Caliber Tackle

Last edited:

preston96